Makemytrip experience – it worked both ways!

Posted on May 22, 2017 by

0


I recently went on a road trip and I used makemytrip to do my hotel bookings. The offers were great and the initial experience of booking was pretty nice. I booked into a fantastic resort at Kovalam in Kerala and then I realised that it is at a distance of 800 Kms from Chennai and I would find it to difficult to drive in one stretch.

Hence, I decided to halt at Tirunelveli for the evening and start the next morning to Kovalam. I again used Makemytrip to book my stay at Tirunelveli. It went smooth till here. However, I made a mistake in my booking, where instead of choosing two adults, I selected one adult. I tried to change this in my booking and it wasn’t letting me do it.

Then, I realised that makemytrip has a customer support number and I dialled that number. I was greeted by a voice that said, ‘makemytrip, can I help you?’. It was very reassuring and I said that she can certainly help me and told her the problem. After listening to me patiently, she suggested that I cancel the earlier booking and make a new booking and the benefit offered was that the full amount would be refunded for the cancelled booking. They just did not have an option to add additional things to the booking, which was tough to believe for a company of the size of makemytrip.

It definitely was a pain for me to cancel the booking and make a fresh one. Though the offers were good, this part of the customer experience can still be improved. Maybe, they are missing a trick or two in upselling stuff to customers. This despite the fact that their main focus to begin with, was airline bookings.

 

