Your story is worth telling…

Posted on April 9, 2014 by

1


Recently, I was doing a workshop on storytelling, where I was speaking about the importance of using personal stories in communication. Many of them had this question in their minds and one of them asked me, “Why would somebody be interested in my story?”.

I asked them back, if they can tell me names of some people who have inspired them. It had names like Mahatma Gandhi, Subash Chandra Bose, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, Abdul Kalam, and Subrato Bagchi. Then I asked them, do you identify yourself with any of these names and do you think that what these people have achieved is doable for you. I didn’t get a positive response from them as these great people have changed the course of nations and the business world in such a dramatic way that you can only look at them in awe. You place them on a pedestal and it doesn’t really inspire you to take similar actions.

This is precisely why your personal everyday stories would work – for a simple reason that the audience members would be able to identify themselves with what you speak and it can inspire them to take actions. Your experiences are probably the most inspiring of them all, hence start sharing them as stories.

