Reality Bites

Posted on July 29, 2012 by

0


After three Mai Tais inside me, I had lost count. The dark Jamaican rum worked with the sunny Caribbean sun, gently encouraging the blood to flow in my veins. And presumably arteries too.

She emerged from the sparkling water of the on-board pool, looking like an angel taking a break from Paradise. She asked me how many drinks I had. I replied honestly that I didn’t know. She nimbly took the glass away from my fuzzy fingers with a smile. Sipping it, she commented, “Hmmm, nice!”

Looking at her, I couldn’t but reply, “I agree.”

I vaguely remember getting off the yacht and then we walked back to the room with the ocean view. As we were about to enter the hotel, the doorman stepped forward. In my slightly-less-than-sober state, I blurted, “What? You gonna stop me because I’m drunk?”

Slightly startled, he replied with a faint smile as he opened the door, “Sir, you OWN this island.” My angel’s fading laughter echoed like the tinkling of faraway bells.

Then I woke up.